You don’t have time to read all 62 pages of Prop 64, which Californians voted “YES” on to legalize recreational marijuana last week,. So here are all the important numbers — including dates — you need to know about recreational marijuana in California.
Californians must be at least 21 years of age to smoke marijuana in private. Medical marijuana can still be used by people under 21. In addition, cannabis products could not be designed to appeal to children or to be easily confused with commercially sold candy.
Californians age 21 or older may buy, hold, or transport up to 28.5 grams of weed (or eight grams of concentrated weed).
Jan. 1, 2018
It is now legal to smoke weed in private throughout the state and be in possession of it, but black market sales remain illegal. It is important to find a reputable place if you want to buy marijuana online. There are places where you can find free weed packaging samples for your marijuana if you wish to keep your purchases safe. The state has until the first day of 2018 to begin issuing retail licenses to allow dispensaries to sell and profit from recreational marijuana.
Selling marijuana without a license will result in a misdemeanor charge with penalties of up to six months in jail and $500 in fines.
State analysts estimate the recreational marijuana program could generate up to a billion dollars in annual tax revenue, to be used for expenses including youth drug education programs and grants to local health departments and community-based nonprofits.
The state will impose a 15% excise tax on all recreational retail sales (medical marijuana patients remain exempt from paying sales taxes). In addition, the state may levy a cultivation tax on growers — $9.25 per ounce for flower and $2.75 per ounce for leaves. Cities and counties may impose their own taxes to cover costs of services, including enforcement.
You won’t see marijuana advertised on any billboards located along an interstate highway or state highway that crosses the border of any other state, nor will you see them within 1,000 feet of day-care centers, K-12 schools, playgrounds, or youth centers.
Smoking pot is outlawed within 1,000 feet of a school, day-care center, or youth center while children are present.
People busted smoking marijuana in public will face a maximum fine of $100. Those caught smoking pot in a place where tobacco smoking is prohibited or near a school can be fined up to $250. For those looking to smoke in the privacy of their own home, weed delivery services are available.
Licensed businesses cannot sell marijuana within 600 feet of a school, day care center, or youth center.
Minors who violate marijuana-related laws will be required to complete up to 10 hours of community service and four hours of a drug-education program.