Marijuana in Alabama has been illegal for all purposes since 1931.
With one exception: In 2014, Alabama passed Carly’s Law, allowing the University of Alabama at Birmingham to provide federally approved non-psychoactive CBD oil to children with debilitating seizures as a clinical study.
In 2015, state Senator Bobby Singleton proposed the Medical Marijuana Patient Safe Access Act, which would have allowed patients with 25 severe conditions to access medical cannabis. High Times called it “the most impressive piece of legislation the South has seen in regards to establishing a statewide medical marijuana program”. The bill was passed by the Senate Judiciary Committee with near-unanimous approval but failed to reach the Senate floor.
“It is bad legislation,” said Senator Jabo Waggoner, who blocked the bill’s progress as head of the Senate Rules Committee. “We don’t need that in Alabama.”
Current U.S. Attorney General and former Alabama senator Jeff Sessions is staunchly anti-legalization. (You can track his latest marijuana-related actions and comments via our popular Sessions Watch series.)
Medical consumption: Illegal. The one exception being a limited state-sponsored clinical trial at UAB (see “Carly’s Law” above).
Recreational consumption: Illegal.
In addition to the below penalties, a marijuana conviction in Alabama results in an automatic six-month driver’s license suspension.
Possessing any amount for personal use: Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, $6,000 fine
Possessing any amount for non-personal use: Felony, 1-10 years incarceration, $15,000 fine
Sale of any amount: Felony, 2-20 years incarceration, $30,000 fine
Sale by person over 18 to minor: Felony, 10 years-Life incarceration, $60,000 fine
Sale within 3 miles of school or public housing: Felony, 5 years incarceration
Sale or delivery (<1 oz.): Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, $10,000 fine
Trafficking (2.2-100 lbs): Felony, 3 years incarceration, $25,000 fine
Trafficking (100-499 lbs): Felony, 5 years incarceration, $50,000 fine
Trafficking (500-999 lbs): Felony, 15 years incarceration, $200,000 fine
Cultivation (manufacture 2nd degree): Felony, 2-20 years incarceration, $30,000 fine
Cultivation (manufacture (1st degree): Felony, 10 years-Life incarceration, $60,000 fine
Paraphernalia (use or intent to use): Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, $6,000 fine
Paraphernalia (delivery or sale): Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, $6,000 fine
Paraphernalia (delivery or sale to a minor): Felony, 2-20 years incarceration, $30,000 fine