Marijuana in Alaska is legal for recreational use, following a successful 2014 ballot initiative. Marijuana in Alaska has been legal for medical use since 1998. Alaska’s first retailer opened in October 2016.
Personal privacy protections have been in place since 1975 allowing Alaskans to possess and cultivate small quantities of cannabis. However, state law never permitted a legal market for marijuana production and sales until Ballot Measure 2 passed in 2014 with 52% of the vote.
Alaska’s cannabis buds are taxed at $50 per ounce and stems and leaves at $15 per ounce. In December 2016 and January 2017, supply shortages caused many cannabis shops to temporarily cease operations until inventory was restored. Many marijuana users have different ways of consumption, with Alaska being recreational you don’t need a marijuana card in order to vape your marijuana through something like these Hamilton Devices.
Medical consumption: Legal. Qualifying conditions: Cachexia, Cancer, Chronic Pain, Glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, Multiple Sclerosis, Nausea, Seizures
Recreational consumption: Legal for adults over 21.
Cultivation: Alaskans may grow up to 12 plants in a household with two adults over 21. Licensed commercial grows have no limits.
Transportation: Legal to carry up to 1 oz.
Public consumption: Violation, $100 fine
Carrying 1-4 oz: Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, $10,000 fine
Carrying 4 oz. or more: Felony, 5 years incarceration, $50,000 fine
Carrying within 500 feet of school grounds: Felony, 5 years incarceration, $50,000 fine
Carrying with intent to distribute (<1 oz.): Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, $10,000 fine
Carrying with intent to distribute (>1 oz.): Felony, 5 years incarceration, $50,000 fine
Sale or delivery (<1 oz.): Misdemeanor, 1 year incarceration, $10,000 fine
Sale or delivery (>1 oz.): Felony, 5 years incarceration, $50,000 fine
Sale or delivery to a person under 19 who is 3+ years younger than seller: Felony, 10 years incarceration, $100,000 fine
Cultivation (25+ plants): Felony, 5 years incarceration, $1,000 fine
Civil Asset Forfeiture: Assets, including vehicles, can be seized in a civil proceeding, regardless of whether criminal charges are brought.