Marijuana in Arkansas

Marijuana in Arkansas is illegal for recreational purposes, and has been since 1923.In 2012 an attempt to legalize has been illegal for all purposes since 1931.

Medical marijuana in Arkansas is legal. After falling just short of legalization in 2012 (49% of voters were in favor), Arkansas legalized medical marijuana in 2016 (53% of voters approved). Arkansas is in the final stages of approving rules to govern the issuance of marijuana registration cards, as well as the cannabis labeling and testing.

Laws

Medical consumption: Legalized, but program not yet operational. Qualifying conditions: ALS, Alzheimer’s disease, Cachexia, Cancer, chronic or debilitating disease, Crohn’s disease, Fibromyalgia, Glaucoma, Hepatitis C, HIV/AIDS, intractable pain, Multiple sclerosis, peripheral neuropathy, PTSD, seizures, severe arthritis, severe nausea, severe and persistent muscle spasms, Tourette’s syndrome, Ulcerative colitis, any medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health
Recreational consumption: Illegal.
Cultivation:
 Illegal.
Transportation: Illegal.

Penalties

Possession (<4 oz, first offense): Misdemeanor, maximum 1 year incarceration, $2,500 fine
Possession (<4 oz, subsequent offense): Felony, maximum 6 years incarceration, $10,000 fine
Possession (4 oz-10 lbs): Felony, maximum 6 years incarceration, $10,000 fine
Possession (10-25 lbs): Felony, 3-10 years incarceration, $10,000 fine
Possession (25-100 lbs): Felony, 5-20 years incarceration, $15,000 fine
Possession (100-500 lbs): Felony, 6-30 years incarceration, $15,000 fine
Delivery (<14g): Misdemeanor, maximum 1 year incarceration, $2,500 fine
Delivery (14 g-4 oz): Felony, maximum 6 years incarceration, $10,000 fine
Delivery (4 oz-25 lbs): Felony, 3-10 years incarceration, $10,000 fine
Delivery (25-100 lbs): Felony, 5-20 years incarceration, $15,000 fine
Delivery (100-500 lbs): Felony, 6-30 years incarceration, $15,000 fine
Trafficking (>500 lbs): Felony, 10-40 years incarceration, $15,000 fine
Paraphernalia (purpose to use): Misdemeanor, maximum 1 year incarceration, $2,500 fine
Paraphernalia (purpose to grow): Felony, maximum 6 year incarceration, $10,000 fine
Paraphernalia (delivery of smoking paraphernalia to minor at least 3 years younger): Misdemeanor, maximum 1 year incarceration, $2,500 fine
Paraphernalia (delivery of growing paraphernalia to minor at least 3 years younger): Felony, 5-20 years incarceration, $15,000 fine